Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any tips on how to reduce fluid intake?

I've been on dialysis for about 8 years now, and no matter what I have tried to do over the years, I always come into the center having drank way too much fluid. I typically have to remove 5+kl, which I know is much more than I need to be taking off. What do other people do to reduce their fluid intake between sessions to stay in the recommended 4kl area?

Like I said previously, I've been doing this for 8 years now and haven't found any way to control my fluid intake.

Any ideas will help. Thanks!

Eston Burciaga

Well, what works for me is to rarely drink water. I almost always drink juice when thirsty, so I can get some calories with the liquid intake. Of course, I'm not diabetic, so this wouldn't be a good idea if you were. Some people also say that lemon drops will reduce thirst.

Comment

One way to stick to your fluid intake allowance it to fill a pitcher or bottle with the daily allowed amount.

Don't forget that Popsicles, ice cubes, soup, jello and everything that turns into liquid form at room temp, should also be included in your daily limit.
      I received the GIFT OF LIFE on Nov 9, 2010 thanks to my wonderful donor Laura and her family!

Comment

I have devised a little system for fluid and I am not on fluid restriction because of this system. I am going on just over a year and a half on HD. I am a very large guy who used to drink a lot of diet soda before this disease hit me.

Right after dialysis (within 30 minutes) I drink 4 to 6 oz of juice. I buy the little kids juices at the 99 cent store. I try to buy the one with the most nutrient/vitamins with no phosphorus. If you are diabetic watch the sugar! Buy one with Cranberry juice in it if you get UTIs.