Subscribe to this Thread…
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Mare N

Post How I Break the Boredom

I've only been to dialysis 3 X's, but it didn't take long to know it's a boring wait just sitting for 3 hours. I take a book or magazine, along with my CD player and listen to music & read to pass the first to second hour. Tired of that I go to the TV and daydream for a spell. On upcoming appointments, I have decided to take my little DVD player and catch up on some overdue movie catch up. It works so far, but remember . . . this is still new to me. I should write again in 6 - 12 months, LOL. I'm sure new things will be needed to break the boredom of those. Who knows. I'm not complaining . . . I'm overjoyed that I can do this and enjoy each day I get. Take care all.
    Mare

10 year later :(

Hi,
    I've been doing this for almost 10 years so far!
    Hopefully I can get a break one day....
    (if not I'll go get a kidney in china...jk- well sort of )

I find it quite hard to pass the time.
    I used to be able to bring in schoolwork but find it much to hard to concentrate, esp when you feel so dizzy and with so much noise and no desk to write on.

I am lucky I have been able to buy a laptop and have access to a phone line so I can surf online and play computer gmes while i am there.

I also have alot of magazine subscriptions and sometime pick up the daily newspaper.

I usually leave all my magazines for other people as I am sure they appreciate them there.

I think maybe doing crosswords or word games might be fun too...I'll have to get some to bring in.

Also if you can not afford magazine subscriptions (alot of people can't) there are many good free magazines you can get esp if you live in the US.

What i have done to avoid the "spam"/junk emails is used a separate email address that I check once a week to delete all the crap email from!
    works great!

magazines I have gotten for free right now

Infoweek
    Dance magazine
    Small Times
    Horse Racer