Subscribe to this Thread…

Question Is there a difference between PKD and CKD in terms of dietary restrictions/cautions?

I'm new to this site, so please excuse my ignorance... I have been asking my nephrologist, for over 18 months, if there are things I can do or avoid, that would decrease the damage to my polycystic kidneys. She has continually told me "no, not really". I used to drink a lot of soda (mostly Pepsi or Barq's rootbeer) which I gave up, because of the caffeine and whatever 'stuff' is in the dark pops that I knew anyone really should avoid. I then drank orange Crush (because it wasn't a black pop and does not contain caffeine), but also gave that up, thinking that it still wouldn't be anything I should be ingesting in any quantities. I drink mostly ice water now (sometimes with lemon, sometimes not...) with the occasional "splurge" of 7Up or orange juice (though I did go through a huge "orange juice jag", before reading somewhere that orange juice contains a lot of potassium - which I understood that I should avoid... Anyway, my kidney function is currently at about 17%, having dropped from about 25%, less than a year ago, so I'm questioning whether there really isn't anything I can do to slow the damage or maybe I'm just not doing the right things. Different people have told me about a renal diet and, of course, I have read some things about diet/nutrition on this site so my question is really whether I'm just "wishful thinking" that there are still actions I could take to decrease the rate, at which my kidneys (and their function) deteriorate, or are these diets and actions primarily necessary for end-stage kidney disease (on dialysis)? Since my nephrologist has continually told me that there really isn't anything I can do, I'm also questioning whether there are differences between CKD and PKD that would explain why some people get put on special diets etc. and see improvements in their function. Could this be explained by the fact that those people