Subscribe to this Thread…

Kidneys failed due to septic shock

hello. My name is michelle and i am new to dialysis.. i am 40 yrs old and was completely healthy until septic shock almost killed me and now i am left with a diagnosis of ESRD. I was in the hospital 24 days and now i have been doing outpatient dialysis for 3 weeks..depending on which dr i see, some are still hopeful my kidneys will recover, others are not so optimistic.. i just want to know if anybody else has a similar experience or knows any statistics on kidney function returning after an incident like this... i have so many other questions but this bears on my mind the most right now...

Re: Kidneys failed due to septic shock

Welcome to our site. I am sorry you ever had to use it personally, but that is what it is here for. I have seen people have their kidney function return after some trauma caused ESRD rather than a disease. I am not medically trained and cannot answer your question, but a quick look around the net gave me a look at many sources who do have some answers. You might want to start with http://www.webmd.com/a-to-z-guides/a...verview?page=2
    There are many more and the answer appears to be a good chance.
    Best of luck
    Cicero
    May God have mercy on us all

CK

Idiopathic globular membranous nephritis 1999-2006
    Feb 2006 Dx about 1-2 yrs before dialysis. Dialysis start 6-2006
    Chest Cath 4 mos in center hemo dialysis
    Fistula, button holes, self stick days 07-09 in center hemo
    Graft nocturnal hemo 4Q09 to present