Subscribe to this Thread…
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Question Low Potassium Diet

Hello, I was diagnosed with Stage 4 CKD and was told that I must follow a low potassium diet. My doctor said that dialysis is not an option for me. This web site is very helpful but because I am new to this I would like to know if instant Mashed Potatoes are considered a low potassium food item. Thanks

Re: Low Potassium Diet

I have been on a renal diet for 2 years and I have a daughter that cant eat wheat so I guess you can say is that im on 2 diets it stinks

Smile Re: Low Potassium Diet

Quote Originally Posted by helenv49 View Post
    Hello, I was diagnosed with Stage 4 CKD and was told that I must follow a low potassium diet. My doctor said that dialysis is not an option for me. This web site is very helpful but because I am new to this I would like to know if instant Mashed Potatoes are considered a low potassium food item. Thanks
    Hello helen, I am curious, why did your neph say that dialysis is not an option for you, do you have to directly have a transplant? As long as I have been on dialysis, I have never heard anything like that, you must have a rare issue as to why.

Glo

Question Re: Low Potassium Diet

Quote Originally Posted by kbzurek View Post
    I have been on a renal diet for 2 years and I have a daughter that cant eat wheat so I guess you can say is that im on 2 diets it stinks
    Well Wheat is high in phosphate so really that is kinda a renal diet already so wouldn't that still be one diet?

Quote Originally Posted by jeffmoore View Post
    Hello helen, I am curious, why did your neph say that dialysis is not an option for you, do you have to directly have a transplant? As long as I have been on dialysis, I have never heard anything like that, you must have a rare issue as to why.
    Glo