Subscribe to this Thread…
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Fistula vs Graft

My husband was scheduled for his fistula the first wk. of Feb. then last night the surgeon called to say he and the Neph conferred after going over the mapping that DH's veins were way too deep to do the fistula. Rather than lifting them and risking bad access now they want to do a graft instead. We aren't very pleased about the graft but respect the surgeon and the neph's opinion. Anyone else have deep vein problems? Anyone with a Graft? We are concerned how long it will last and what happens if it has to be replaced? Questions we should have asked last night altho there are no better answers than those who have been there before. Thanks!

Re: Fistula vs Graft

I am not an expert in this area but can they put a fistula in another arm or are his veins deep in both arms? I wish I could help you more with this but I'm sure someone will have the right answer for you

Yep, he has very deep veins in both arms. He is a very large man, also has a pacemaker & diabetes. Our Dr. said not too worry he will always be able to be on dialysis one way or another. Just hoping for a smooth transition. I think we are a few months away from dialysis but we both like to be pro-active. Thanks for your response!

I do not have a graft, but I know several people who do and who are very satisfied with them. Another approach you might consider is peritoneal dialysis in which a catheter is placed in the abdomen, fluid is instilled into the abdomen and the peritoneum is used as a filter. This system works very well for lots of people and many people use a "cycler" machine which automatically fills and drains the abdomen on a schedule while you sleep. It leaves your days free for work or whatever and is easier on the body than hemodialysis.
    To the stars through difficulty!