Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi all,

Hi to everyone and Happy Thanksgiving.
    I have not been diagnosed yet but going through the testing process and meeting with my Nephrologist on Dec 1st to see where I am at. I was hoping for some insight as I am just learning about CKD.
    I have had proteinuria for a number of years, discovered while applying for life insurance. Had a couple 24 hour tests done as well as some blood work and the result was just benign protein. Fast forward 8 years and at age 61, I find myself getting up sometimes 2 or 3 times a night to urinate. My last protein test was 22 and my GFR was 95 in August. I also have a weird taste in my mouth which I seem to be able to ignore but becomes more obvious to me as I am attempting to go to sleep.
    From everything I read my symptoms seem to indicate early CKD. I am diabetic which I control with my diet and no longer taking meds, my blood pressure ranges from 120 over 70 to 140 over 85 currently taking Amoldopine (sic). Neither my BP or my BG has ever been wildly out of control so I am not sure how or why I could have gotten CKD, but with the protein in my urine somewhere I did some kidney damage. Other symptoms I am experiencing include a strange kind of balance issue where I feel like I am rocking back and forth as I stand and itchy skin, occasionally if I sit too long my feet and lower legs get a little swollen but most of the time they are fine.
    I would love to hear from anyone that may of started with symptoms similar to mine. Obviously I will do whatever it takes to work towards controlling my progression. I am just a little concerned at what I should expect with progression. Thanks in advance, and best of luck to everyone.