New to this and a question - Welcome to the myDaVita Kidney Disease and Dialysis Forums

Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

New to this and a question

Page Title Module
Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to this and a question

I was diagnosed with Stage 3 CKD two weeks ago. My kidney doc is a good guy but refuses to answer the question, "How long will I live?" Even ball park. I said to him this week am I dying? He said yes. I said how long will it be? He said "Sometimes it's a while?" I said 5 or 10 years. He said yes but would not be more specific I am 65 and making a decision about retiring. I am a school teacher. I love the kids and would like to keep going but I don't want to start next year and have to take a lot of time off or kick on the job.
    What do your docs tell you?

Hi, I've been on hemo dialysis for 2 years. My grandmother was on hemo for 15 years. If you haven't started dialysis yet, that maybe an option. If you have someone that wants to donate a kidney to you that's great too. Some people at my dialysis center have been on dialysis for 15 to 20 years. Have had transplants that have lasted 15 years. I don't know all of your situation but it's hard to predict the future even when your healthy. Plan for the positive, kidney failure does not have to run your life. You could keep teaching and do dialysis at night. If you want a second opinion get one. You are the only person who can do the absolute best for you. Be your own advocate. Bring a friend or family member with you because they might have questions that you haven't thought of yet. Don't give up, keep fighting for yourself. It's good your asking questions.

Comment

Thanks jnusserg

Comment