Waitng Almost 10 years now for the second time - Welcome to the myDaVita Kidney Disease and Dialysis Forums

Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Waitng Almost 10 years now for the second time

Page Title Module
Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Waitng Almost 10 years now for the second time

I have been on the waiting list almost 10+ years now I keep being told i should be at the top and it will be any day now "YEAH SURE" I have been hearing this for last 3 yrs i guess they forget what they say sometimes. I admit i did receive a call once before at the very beginning but I said No but I was not ready then I would have been a fool to say yes knowing that some one else would have appreciated it more than I at that time. I now find myself waiting and not sure I'm ready for it this time. I will be honest even after having had many surgeries it stil scares me but the thought of not having to go to dialysis anymore is very inviting. Only time will tell how this story ends.

Texas,
    Last edited by julioTX512; 12-06-2014, 10:38 PM. Reason: realized i misspeled

Hello julioTX512,

Thanks for the interesting if disheartening perspective. I've been an HHD patient for going on 2-1/2 years and have seamlessly assimilated the HHD regime into an active work and play life. The success with HHD, contrasted with the unknowns of kidney transplantation: major surgery, meds that harm the graft and hammer the immune response so that the common cold or other bacteria can lead to illness that can cause the graft to fail, developing new antibodies that make a future transplant match even more difficult, requiring a longer wait for a transplant all add up to my lack of enthusiasm to receive a transplant.