X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Im new help

Hey everyone im new to having kidney disease i also have lupus and im on blood transfusions and i have very high blood pressure im scared to eat or drink anything so all i do is eat fruits n veggies most of the time i dont how much food to eat i dont know how to monitor it or things i drink i dont know what to drink and how much and i dont know what i can do or what i can do im not on bed rest cause im swollen from my lupus flare and the protein Thats leaking from my kidneys so if anybody can help me out in any type of way i would really appreciate it please and thank u god bless everybody

Hi Kathy, I too felt very confused by 'everything'. Perhaps starting with your pcp, or nephrologist and asking to see a renal dietitian might put your mind at rest. Good Luck! ml

Comment

Hi Cathy,

If you read around each day most of us hungry folks will post about good things we have found to eat. They work within the frame work of healthy for your kidney. But each person also had there own food profile. If you are tested low sodium, then you can eat a little more savory/salty food. If you are not diabetic you can eat more sweet foods.If you can live with being a vegetarian then you can eat tons of vegetables and fruits. Of course pretty much no dairy, cheese, animal protein, tomatoes, potato, banana, (think low potassium, low protein, very little caffeine, low Phosphorus,) Some of us are restricted to the amount of liquids each day, some can drink lots. This knowledge apparently comes from your tests and info from nephrologist. If you have swelling, you may be limited to a certain amount of liquid each day. If no swelling, you can probably go to it with healthy clear fluids.

Welcome and i will talk to you soon.

Vicky
      PGCruiser

Comment

good morning