Kidney diet with diabetes and gout - Welcome to the myDaVita Kidney Disease and Dialysis Forums

Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Kidney diet with diabetes and gout

Page Title Module
Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Kidney diet with diabetes and gout

I am just getting started on Kidney diet concerns. I have had hypertension since high school and diabetes since age 50. Recently diagnosed with gout. Putting all the dietary guidelines and restrictions together does not help my diminishing appetite. Age 70 and overweight. Any suggestions.

Hi smoser47, have you tried the DaVita Diet Helper? It may help you better keep track of your dietary restrictions and plan kidney-friendly meals that meet your nutritional goals: http://bit.ly/2ae6Vi2. Let me know if you have any questions on how to use it!

Comment

My partner was diagnosed with 3rd stage renal failure about 3 years ago. He's diabetic, had open heart surgery, but we have managed to keep his numbers up and no talk of dialysis so far. His gout has recently become worse and worse, is this a normal part of kidney failure or is this aside from that. I find it hard to figure out diet with all the complications. Anyone else have similar issues that can share secrets?

Comment

Originally posted by pjrichard View Post
        My partner was diagnosed with 3rd stage renal failure about 3 years ago. He's diabetic, had open heart surgery, but we have managed to keep his numbers up and no talk of dialysis so far. His gout has recently become worse and worse, is this a normal part of kidney failure or is this aside from that. I find it hard to figure out diet with all the complications. Anyone else have similar issues that can share secrets?