X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Nocturnal HHD Using NxStage System1

I am involved in a trial to seek FDA approval for the use of the NxStage System1 Cycler in nocturnal home hemodialysis. I have been treating with HHD since July 2012 (training) and home since September 2012.

I completed the first two months of the trial using short daily HHD with the NxStage System1 Cycler and began the nocturnal portion of the trial two nights ago. Since this is a very new dialysis modality, I'm interested to learn of the experiences of others who have performed nocturnal hemodialysis in-center or at home with NxStage or Fresenius dialysis equipment.

I am also participating in the same study that is seeking FDA approval for the Cycler. So far this has been a great switch for me and my family. I learned in June of 2012 the HHD and went home in July. Although I cannot compare my experience to In-Center HD (as I started as a HHD patient) I will say that I find the nocturnal HHD to be far better than the short daily that I was following before.

I have to small kids 2 and 4 and work a normal 8-5 job; so the ability to put them to bed then get on the machine and sleep all night is better than falling asleep while on the machine and then waking up at 12 or 1 in the morning after two hours of sleep. It has helped my mood and demeanor tremendously. I have high hopes to continue this modality long after the study is complete.

Comment