Ambulance Transportation - Welcome to the myDaVita Kidney Disease and Dialysis Forums

Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ambulance Transportation

Page Title Module
Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ambulance Transportation

My name is Alan Chiasson, my friends call me Chase and I am a Paramedic...I have provided medical transportation for hundreds of dialysis patients for a number of years and for the most part have had very positive experiences...However, I have witnessed first hand and have heard from others about improper treatment, bad attitudes, shoddy vehicles and equipment, fraudulent claims, and even criminal behavior by a number of Ambulance Providers in my area.

My question/project is to find out from dialysis patients about their own experiences (good or bad) regarding ambulance transportation in order to look for ways to improve my own services to the dialysis community. So far, the two things I have implemented at my company is educating our medics about kidney disease and hemodialysis (fistula site location, condition, etc.) and Driver Training - Low forces driving, best/smoothest route, loading and unloading patients, etc.

I am genuinely interested in hearing from patients, family members, and social workers regarding any comments, complaints, or suggestions, they might have on what they think will make things better in terms of how they are treated, transported, and cared for throughout the transfer process, from the point of arrival, to return to residence.

I am also putting together a focus group to address these concerns and I'm looking for local dialysis patients who utilize medical transportation, family members, partners, and social workers to participate in my project. If anyone is interested and living in the Houston metropolitan area, I can be reached here or through my e-mail at chase@forceems.com