Close Mobile Navigation

Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Do you enjoy the dialysis service DaVita provides? What could they improve?

Page Title Module
Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Do you enjoy the dialysis service DaVita provides? What could they improve?

    A family member is in need of dialysis treatments. I don't know too many of the details, but I wanted to do some research about DaVita because I know that they are the leading provider of dialysis in the country. Can you tell me how you feel about the service they provide. Also, some very specific things that they could improve or what major issues they have? Thanks

  • #2
    I have been with my Davita unit since July 2015,when I moved from Ct I was transferred to Fresinius which was who I was with up there and they didn't want to transfer you to another company.Unfortunatly the unit was a disaster,not friendly acted more like they were doing me a favor taking care of me,really bad,I left in tears one day never went back and took matters into my own hands and got myself into a Davita facility right near where I lived.I have not looked back since.They are wonderful caring people that work there.I love them all!

    Comment


    • #3
      My husband has been on dialysis since December, 2012 when I rushed him to ER with what we thought was a heart attack. It wasn't. He was near death; renal failure. Had no clue. He was admitted, started dialysis thru a line in his neck the next day. And since that day Davita has been the reason he is alive. Our clinic is Davita East in Evansville, Indiana where we began in-clinic hemo upon release from the hospital and 3 months later began PD manual exchanges 4 times daily. We now use the cycler at night with one manual exchange in the afternoon. I tell you all of this because on this life changing journey each Davita staff member has treated us with dignity, kindness, and compassion all the while taking great care to keep my husband as healthy as he can possibly be. We are on 2 transplant lists and our Davita family will be as happy as we are when that transplant call occurs. Davita is the best thing that happened to us after the worst thing ever when ER Doctor said "you are dying because you are in complete renal failure". I wish your family strength.

      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by Rupparena View Post
        My husband has been on dialysis since December, 2012 when I rushed him to ER with what we thought was a heart attack. It wasn't. He was near death; renal failure. Had no clue. He was admitted, started dialysis thru a line in his neck the next day. And since that day Davita has been the reason he is alive. Our clinic is Davita East in Evansville, Indiana where we began in-clinic hemo upon release from the hospital and 3 months later began PD manual exchanges 4 times daily. We now use the cycler at night with one manual exchange in the afternoon. I tell you all of this because on this life changing journey each Davita staff member has treated us with dignity, kindness, and compassion all the while taking great care to keep my husband as healthy as he can possibly be. We are on 2 transplant lists and our Davita family will be as happy as we are when that transplant call occurs. Davita is the best thing that happened to us after the worst thing ever when ER Doctor said "you are dying because you are in complete renal failure". I wish your family strength.
        Hi Rupparena, thank you for sharing this story! I'm so happy that you've had a positive experience with DaVita teammates. Please feel free to reach out to me if you have any questions about the resources offered here through myDaVita. We wish you and your husband all the best and hope you have a happy weekend!

        Your community manager,
        Kelsey

        Comment


        • #5
          I'd like to know the policy regarding late arrivals for dialysis. During the week, I'm almost always able to get into my chair on time, but never on a Saturday. Last weekend I was sitting in the lobby and heard one patient state as she was leaving, "I was late because I didn't really feel like getting out of bed this morning". This while I'm already 25 minutes late for my chair. 10 minutes later another patient comes out and says, "My daughter didn't want to get up this morning to get me here on time, so I was an hour late". My chair time is at 10:15, which puts my treatment right in the middle of my day, and of course on Saturday I'd like to spend some time with my wife (she works every weekday), and these habitually late patients push my chair time back and waste my valuable time. I'm getting quite disheartened and frustrated by this inconsiderate behavior and I'd like to know why these patients are allowed to repeat this behavior week after week? Is there a time limit after which a patient can be turned away, so as not to delay treatment of the other patients? Are habitually-late patients ever admonished by treatment center management in an attempt to get them in on-time? I've been delayed over an hour a few times, and once more than an hour and forty minutes, just since February. What can I do?

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by dwcains View Post
            I'd like to know the policy regarding late arrivals for dialysis. During the week, I'm almost always able to get into my chair on time, but never on a Saturday. Last weekend I was sitting in the lobby and heard one patient state as she was leaving, "I was late because I didn't really feel like getting out of bed this morning". This while I'm already 25 minutes late for my chair. 10 minutes later another patient comes out and says, "My daughter didn't want to get up this morning to get me here on time, so I was an hour late". My chair time is at 10:15, which puts my treatment right in the middle of my day, and of course on Saturday I'd like to spend some time with my wife (she works every weekday), and these habitually late patients push my chair time back and waste my valuable time. I'm getting quite disheartened and frustrated by this inconsiderate behavior and I'd like to know why these patients are allowed to repeat this behavior week after week? Is there a time limit after which a patient can be turned away, so as not to delay treatment of the other patients? Are habitually-late patients ever admonished by treatment center management in an attempt to get them in on-time? I've been delayed over an hour a few times, and once more than an hour and forty minutes, just since February. What can I do?
            Hi dwcains, thank you for reaching out here. I'm sorry to hear about your experience, I imagine that would be extremely frustrating. I'd recommend reaching out to the DaVita Guest Services team, as they will be able to assist you and answer any specific questions you have with a local center. You can call them directly at 1-800-400-8331 or email them at guestservices@davita.com. I hope this helps, please let me know if you have any additional questions. Have a great day!

            Comment


            • #7
              I've been on dialysis for three years. The techs and nurses are great. However i find the chairs to be uncomfortable and the room extremely cold. Also other patient's TV's are played at annoying volume levels. Suggestions to the administrator that they be asked to use ear buds or headphones have been ignored.

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by Jim View Post
                I've been on dialysis for three years. The techs and nurses are great. However i find the chairs to be uncomfortable and the room extremely cold. Also other patient's TV's are played at annoying volume levels. Suggestions to the administrator that they be asked to use ear buds or headphones have been ignored.
                Hi Jim, thank you for the message! My name is Kelsey, I'm the community manager with myDaVita and here to help answer questions and provide support. I'm glad to hear that you're happy with your nurses and techs! I'd suggest reaching out to the DaVita Guest Services team as they are able to address specific questions and concerns with local centers. You can call them at 1-800-400-8331 or email them at guestservices@davita.com. Let me know if you have any other questions with myDaVita!

                Comment


                • #9
                  Notice every answer is generic and you are given a number to call. So what is the benefit of that

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Originally posted by garydacus View Post
                    Notice every answer is generic and you are given a number to call. So what is the benefit of that
                    Hi garydacus, the number goes to the DaVita Guest Services team where they can help you and ensure you speak to a specialist regarding your situation. Patient safety is our top priority so we want to be sure that all concerns are heard and that all questions can be answered efficiently and by the appropriate people. I hope that helps!

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Originally posted by garydacus View Post
                      Notice every answer is generic and you are given a number to call. So what is the benefit of that
                      Well, every answer from "Kelsey" is generic because "she" is just an answer-bot; a computer program designed to sound like a real person, placate the poster, and offer generic suggestions. These things are becoming more and more common online.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Hi dac0214, , I'm actually not an answer-bot or computer program. I'm the myDaVita community manager, employed by DaVita and live in Denver, CO! As the community manager, I'm responsible for monitoring and responding to the community in an effort to ensure users are taking advantage of all the awesome resources and educational tools available. Let me know if you have any more questions!

                        Some of the answers may seem generic because I can't give personalized medical advice as everyone's situation is different and I'm not a medical professional. We always advise users to speak to their care team or contact the DaVita Guest Services number because they are best equipped to address any issues that may arise.

                        Let me know if you have any more questions!

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          My suggestion would be for DaVita to post the Guest Services number at the top of the page along with the recipes, etc. That way maybe people would contact that number or email first. cpi3per1

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            I started with Davita in July 2017. Generally I find the nurses great very knowkedgeable, the issues that I have are some techs are better than others in sticking you with the needkes. Recently I had 2 techs who didn't do the best of jobs. You should have seen my arm. Black and blue beyond brlief. One of the good techs was furious when she saw my arm.
                            my other concern is that at times I will cramp up out of the clear blue. And when this happens someone isn't close by to help and trying to scream doesn't always help or they are on the other side of the room helping someone else. They need a better way of getting someone's attention if need be. I know I am not Theo only one who cramps up and it can be painful

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              I have found the service provided at the DaVita Center in Boise, to be very professional and the techs and nurses are friendly, caring and upbeat. Recently, they have had to change some of their procedures and this has impacted my treatment start time and the time it takes to complete gets later every day. I worry about the late completion time since we do not begin at the 1:30 appointment time as was pre-scheduled, but have even begun as late as 2:40 and not completed until after 6:00 PM, making our travel time home to Mountain Home in darkness. Last week we didn't arrive home until after 7 PM. Once the winter season begins we will most likely be traveling on wet, icy or snowy roads. I would really like to have my treatment time start closer to noon and my completion time end before dark. Would this be a workable time frame for me?

                              Comment

                              Back to Top
                              Working...
                              X