X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Nocturnal Pros and Cons

Hi, My name is Dawn. I am a dialysis social worker and my clinic is going to be starting a nocturnal program soon. I was hoping to get some feedback from those of you that are involved in the program so I can share the information with my patients. Thanks!

Welcome, Dawn. It's good to have another professional on the site. The things I don't like about nocturnal dialysis are:

* I don't like sleeping with needles in me. I prefer to sleep in my own bed and go to sleep and wake up when I feel like it.

* I still enjoy the night life. I dialyze 9 hrs. per week on the noon shift so my mornings, evenings, and nights belong to me.

* I don't have a need for longer, gentler dialysis. I like to get it over with and not let dialysis impact my life any more than it has to.

* I am retired and don't have to work all day so I don't see the benefits of dialysis at night.

These are just my opinions based on my individual circumstances. I'm sure many others will disagree with me.
    Whatever does not kill me makes me stronger...Neitzsche
    Flip

Comment

Originally posted by dgromley View Post
      Hi, My name is Dawn. I am a dialysis social worker and my clinic is going to be starting a nocturnal program soon. I was hoping to get some feedback from those of you that are involved in the program so I can share the information with my patients. Thanks!

Hello Dawn, currently am in the Daily-Short program doing 5-6 days a week and am impressed to see more frequent dialysis being offered on other centers.

I am all for more frequent dialysis and can see how increasingly beneficial for us patients who want to live several years more of life.

I have been thinking of trying Nocturnal,but there's a barrier that keeps me from doing it and thats confidence between my caretakers that it will go alright.