X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Nocturnal

Hi, I am on the nocturnal program with my clinic. It is 8 hours 3 times a week from 8:00 pm to 5am. I sleep on a chair like bed with a cushion and my C-pap. It is comfortable and quiet most of the time. I do better because the run is slower and easier on my heart. I use the button-hole method. With nocturnal diaylisis I don't get nausea like I used to during the day.
    However, my fistula is damaged, my stints clotted and I no longer can have access with a catherter in my neck. Tomarrow I am getting a graft in my thigh. The vein is larger so I shouldn't clot as much. I've been on dialysis almost 3 years now.
    I am a volunteer teacher for an art school and that keeps me going. I also take classes.

I would say Welcome, but I see you have 20 posts already. I don't remember seeing you here before, so welcome from me anyway. There are a lot of supportive people here. You sound like you have been through a lot. I hope that the leg access will help you. There was someone on here recently who had a leg access and liked it.
    To the stars through difficulty!

Comment

I'm new here. With nocturnal (or any dialysis, really) can you do all of them three days in a row so you can go away for a long weekend? I'm not yet on dialysis, but at stage 4 chronic kidney disease, and having a tough time visualizing how I will maintain my active lifestyle. I love camping in the summer and snowboarding in the winter - sometimes for three or four days at a time.

Comment

With hemo you pretty much have to stick with the schedule. You can travel, but you have to arrange for dialysis where you are going. This can be done through your dialysis center's social worker. PD allows you to travel more easily because you can do your exchanges anywhere that is private and sanitary. I hope that answers your question.
        To the stars through difficulty!

Comment

well...........