X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Dialysis

I'm new to dialysis, as a matter of fact I had to start hemodialysis in the hospital because of a bad case of pneumonia and my kidneys couldn't handle the strain of the virus. I have a fistula in my left arm and it hurts when they stick me with those needles every time I go to dialysis. I have read about Peritoneal Dialysis and I know this is what I want to do. My question, as far as body image is concerned, how much of the catheter is exposed from the belly? Does it interfere with intimacy?
    Thanks for your help!

There is about a 6 to 7 inch small tube that sticks out from your mid-section. I wear a thin band that hides the tube and it is hardly noticeable. PD is the way to go. I have used in center hemo, through both the perm cath and the fistula and PD at home. PD is very freeing, diet wise, time wise ,and being able to live a nearly normal life.

Comment

i just started dialysis this month i had a fistula but it blew on my first day of dialysis so i had to go to surgery and get a port put in my chest boy i like the fact that i dont have to get stuck with needles they sure do hurt but the ports are only temporary i heard but oh well today is my second day of it hope it all goes well

Comment

AngelaCash I hear that you can get a cream that will numb your arm when they stick you. If you haven't already tried it I would have them give you a prescription for it. You rub it on about an hour before you get stuck and it helps ease the pain. They can also give you a shot of lidocaine before they stick you that might help. I don't get dialysis yet so this is from what I have heard on here.

Comment

Originally posted by cheryl48 View Post