Living with CKD and my life changes - Welcome to the myDaVita Kidney Disease and Dialysis Forums

Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Living with CKD and my life changes

Page Title Module
Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Living with CKD and my life changes

I'm 24 years old and living with chronic kidney disease and I have definitely had lifestyle changes in this. I've had some changes and new experiences both good and bad. Notably, as I was first diagnosed with stage 3 in April and now have gone down to stage 4 even though I took good care of myself, I have noticed some changes. I am now more worried about what the future can hold for me. I take it one day at a time to cope with CKD and even more reasonably take it one day at a time than I did before diagnosis even though CKD is not a death sentence, because I don't know what the future has in store for me. I haven't really felt many symptoms, if any at all. I snack mostly on fruits and vegetables, which helped me lose weight in the first couple months after diagnosis from April to June this year, as I was overweight in April and then dropped to a healthy weight. I was more on eating snacks with a lot of chili and lemon last year, which raised my weight, but that also did not cause CKD in me. Being so young makes it especially overwhelming living with CKD but I have ways to cope easily with it. I have been rarely eating out, less than before though before diagnosis of CKD I also did not go eating out that often either. I have realized that I am strong and am able to withstand so much stuff. I know realize of having so many blessings than I did before diagnosis of CKD. I am more considerate to not take things for granted. I am realizing how life is still worth living in this disease. I find out to keep going until we can't go on anymore. I realize even more about the importance of eating healthily. I realize how one can be with a s