X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Recipe Help

Hello all! I am a DaVita technician and I have recently become our facility's Bone Champion. I am launching a program at our clinic in which I will be picking out a new recipe every month to share with our patients. This monthly recipe will be dialysis friendly and low in phosphorus. After picking our monthly recipe I will prepare the recipe, bring it in to the clinic, pass out samples to my patients and give them a copy of the recipe to take home. I thought this would be a fun activity for everybody and help everyone to make healthier food choices. I have been searching through all the recipes on DaVita.com, but would really love to hear of any new ones or favorites anybody has. Cheers!!

Re: Recipe Help

I recently prepared and really loved the Mexican coleslaw from the Davita recipes. I added more jalepeno and cumin to make it more spicy. I served it as a side dish and then in a flour tortilla with a small amount of albacore tuna as a fish taco. Very tasty!

Comment

Hello Bone Champion. I have created a few recipes for my husband who is in End Stage Renal Disease and also suffers from gout, so they are gout friendly as well. My vegetarian pasta primavera may be of interest to you and hopefully to other members of DaVita. We use all organic produce which I recommend but they can be conventionally grown vegetables as well.
      Ingredients:
      4T butter (or olive oil)
      1 medium onion diced
      3 cloves minced garlic
      2 medium carrots diced (and leached for potassium)
      8 sweet mini peppers diced
      6 radishes diced
      3 stalks of celery diced
      12 fresh basil leaves chopped
      1/4 cup veggie broth (I make my own because I know there is no salt or preservatives in it) (I can send you that recipe too if you're interested)
      1/2 cup rice milk (there is no phosphorous or potassium in rice milk vs. regular milk which is why we use it)