which milk is better... - Welcome to the myDaVita Kidney Disease and Dialysis Forums

Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

which milk is better...

Page Title Module
Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• which milk is better...

What milk is best for us ? I heard unenriched rice milk. Cant seem to fin that one. Any help? I'm new to this.

Hi Hasmith, here's an article from the Kidney Diet Tips blog that reviews some milk substitutes: https://goo.gl/FD2pBL. I'd also recommend speaking to a local dietitian for any specific questions as everyone's needs are different.

Thank you, have a nice weekend!

Comment

I've been using rice milk (Rice Dream) mixed with just a bit of light cream in my cereal. Rice milk seems to be the only 'milk substitute' which has significantly reduced potassium

Comment

Amazon. I thought it was gross, like water. So I blended 1/2c non dairy non fat powdered creamer tp a qt. Much better.

Comment

Can I get the list of the best milk substitutes please. Thank you.

Comment

We are new to this. Is almond milk ok?

Comment

Originally posted by Pattieclayton View Post
              We are new to this. Is almond milk ok?
              Very high in potassium and phosphorus. Read the label.

Comment

I've been drinking LACTAID for years even before I was diagnosed with stage 6 renal failure. I continue even now that I'm on dialysis.

Comment

After a lot of research, I found that Horizon's Organic milk is good. It has no phosphates at all and it comes from fat free to regular.

Comment

Almond milk (Silk brand) I use the unsweetened one. Here are the nutrition facts from the carton: for 1 cup: calories 30,total fat 2.5, saturated and trans fat 0, Polyunsaturated fat 0.5, monounsaturated fat 1.5, cholesterol 0, sodium 125mg., potassium 35mg., total carbs 1g, fiber

Comment