X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Low Potassium Diet

Hello, I was diagnosed with Stage 4 CKD and was told that I must follow a low potassium diet. My doctor said that dialysis is not an option for me. This web site is very helpful but because I am new to this I would like to know if instant Mashed Potatoes are considered a low potassium food item. Thanks

Re: Low Potassium Diet

I have been on a renal diet for 2 years and I have a daughter that cant eat wheat so I guess you can say is that im on 2 diets it stinks

Comment

Originally posted by helenv49 View Post
      Hello, I was diagnosed with Stage 4 CKD and was told that I must follow a low potassium diet. My doctor said that dialysis is not an option for me. This web site is very helpful but because I am new to this I would like to know if instant Mashed Potatoes are considered a low potassium food item. Thanks
      Hello helen, I am curious, why did your neph say that dialysis is not an option for you, do you have to directly have a transplant? As long as I have been on dialysis, I have never heard anything like that, you must have a rare issue as to why.

Glo

Comment

Originally posted by kbzurek View Post
        I have been on a renal diet for 2 years and I have a daughter that cant eat wheat so I guess you can say is that im on 2 diets it stinks
        Well Wheat is high in phosphate so really that is kinda a renal diet already so wouldn't that still be one diet?

Originally posted by jeffmoore View Post
        Hello helen, I am curious, why did your neph say that dialysis is not an option for you, do you have to directly have a transplant? As long as I have been on dialysis, I have never heard anything like that, you must have a rare issue as to why.
        Glo
        Yeah I was wondering that as well. I have heard of some people that cannot do one type of dialysis but they can still do Peritoneal Dialysis if they cannot do Hemo Dialysis ...