X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mom’s (on PD) in denial awaiting transplant

Hi there, I’m fairly new to helping care with daily living for my mother and I’m struggling. She’s been on peritoneal dialysis for around 2 years. Lately she’s become much more symptomatic and last week she was taken to the ER via ambulance with severe shortness of breath and extremely high blood pressure/sugar. (Hypertensive emergency ~ when I looked, after she’d been admitted and stabilized/allowed visitors, her systolic was 240 and her blood sugar was nearly 700.) She had pneumonia in one lung (has had a nasty & persistent dry cough worsening over at least the last year and a half ~ we haven’t found the culprit yet though recently I’m suspecting GERD and feeling almost desperate to be heard) and in the folder with her hospital discharge papers I found information on living with congestive heart failure. (I spoke with my father about it today and he assured me that she hasn’t been diagnosed & that her cardiologist hasn’t found signs of CHF. Dad is very helpful, though himself not in great health, yet also seems overwhelmed & checked out emotionally much of the time.) She didn’t take the last two antibiotics and didn’t tell doctors. She is lax with her meds & meals & records, etc. though she means well. She is secretive when things aren’t well. (Her level of secrecy seems to parallel the importance of transparency in a given situation and it’s maddening.)

I’m trying to help but it’s difficult, mainly because she doesn’t want to be in a position of needing help. Previously strong & nurturing & vivacious & independent, she is in denial in many ways. (Expressing bafflement/irritation with docs over the cause of itching, for example.)